Hotel Shampoo

Gruff Rhys
Hotel Shampoo
Released: 11-02-2011

Buy Now

  1. Shark Ridden Waters
  2. Honey All Over
  3. Sensations In The Dark
  4. Vitamin  K
  5. Take A Sentence
  6. Conservation Conversation
  7. Sophie Softly
  8. Christopher Columbus
  9. Space Dust
  10. At The Heart Of Love
  11. Patterns Of Power
  12. If We Were Words (We Would Rhyme)
  13. Rubble Rubble

GRUFF RHYS (Super Furry Animals, Neon Neon) will release his third solo album, HOTEL SHAMPOO through Popfrenzy Records.

The title of the record is a reference to Gruff’s unfortunate habit of hoarding mini shampoo bottles and other complimentary hotel products whilst on tour.

Gruff’s latest album has also inspired him to create an unlikely art installation; earlier this month at Chapter Arts Centre in Cardiff, Gruff realized a long held ambition to construct a miniature hotel, using his amassed stash of shampoo bottles, toothbrushes, shower caps, slippers and other symbols of his nomadic life as a musician. The event has been captures on a rather fantastic and amusing mini doco that you can watch here

Gruff Rhys - Sensations In The Dark from PIASGermany on Vimeo.

Gruff: “In 1995 I began touring the world, industrially as a pop musician. A gleaming new cosmos of hotel accommodation opened up for me and in an instant I was seduced by the free product available in the rooms. I hoarded these objects in a rush of mild kleptomania. Every room in my house began to amass these plastic bottles and various hotel related things from every continent on earth (except Antarctica). Having never kept a journal these items have become like diary entries, triggering memories of all those buildings and random people I’ve met and inspiring some of the songs on the album.

As an act of revenge against the colonization of our house, I vowed to build a hotel out of the items and sleep in it. The resulting HOTEL SHAMPOO creation serves as a monument to the waste that’s produced in our disposable age and to catalogue my transient existence.”

HOTEL SHAMPOO caps off a massive recording period for Gruff, which has seen him guest appearing on albums including the DangerMouse/ Sparkelhorse album “Dark Night Of The Soul”, Simian Mobile Disco’s “Temporary Pleasure” and collaborating with De La Soul on the track ‘Superfast JellyFish’ on the Gorillaz #1 Australian album “Plastic Beach”.

Gruff Rhys - Shark Ridden Waters from POPFRENZY HQ on Vimeo.

More About Gruff Rhys