Romantic Comedy

Big Troubles
Romantic Comedy
Released: 11-11-2011

Buy Now

  1. She Smiles For Pictures
  2. Misery
  3. Make It Worse
  4. Sad Girls
  5. You’ll Be Laughing
  6. Minor Keys
  7. Softer Than Science
  8. Time Bomb
  9. Engine
  10. Never Mine

Romantic Comedy kicks off with "She Smiles For Pictures," a brilliant slice of jangle-pop marked by an ear-tugging guitar lead and gorgeous choirboy vocals. "Misery" is a perfect 2:23 of teen angst, fired by a huge bassline and echoed, chorused riffs that are as much 90s Brit Pop as they are 00s indie rock. First single "Sad Girls" is a lovely slice of updated power-pop based on a catchy stop-start verse that gives way to an indelible, spiraling chorus; this tune is as big and bright as they come. "You'll Be Laughing" gears down for a nuanced meditation on suburban ennui, showing that this band had more up its collective sleeve than just kicking out pop anthems.

And so the record continues, through sure-fire entries into the noise-pop canon like the Boo Radleys-esque "Minor Keys," the lovely rush of "Softer Than Science" and the glam-tinged feedback-fest that is "Time Bomb." Romantic Comedy wraps up with the dreamy "Engine" and the driving "Never Mine," adding two more gems to this excellent album. Big Troubles have that very rare combination of taste, skill and talent, and aided by Mr. Easter's recording acumen they've created a virtually perfect modern pop album -- one that tips its hat to choice bits of pop past and present, but at the same time creates something totally fresh.

More About Big Troubles