Released: 09-07-2007

Buy Now

  1. Forts
  2. Remember The Orphans
  3. Little Windows
  4. One Year On
  5. Arm In Arm
  6. Bookends
  7. After The Day
  8. The Passage
  9. So I So You
  10. Melanie In The White Coat
  11. If We Want (We Can)
  12. Poor Things
  13. Holiday
  14. Arm In Arm (Hot Chip remix – bonus Australian track)

Over two years in the making, the forthcoming album Forts follows on the unhurried heels of 2002’s We Are The Boggs We Are and 2003’s lost critics’ darling Stitches. Forts’ birthing process started on Friedman’s kitchen floor in Berlin before being brought to maturity in late 2006 at New York’s Gigantic Studios. As cartographers of the New Weird America before such a term came into marketing play, The Boggs have laid claim to territory well outside the usual indie imaginings and instead created a musical landscape that manages to be both achingly familiar and yet almost lunar in its strangeness—a field recording beamed in from a world in which boundaries and decades are irrelevant.

"Nothing less than a sonic revelation." (Magnet)

The Boggs on Forts are: Jason Friedman: vocals, guitars, bass & keyboards. Christian Obermaier (Mek Obaam; Schnieder TM): percussion on whole record except “So I So You” Heather D’Angelo (Au Revoir Simone): vocals on “Remember The Orphans”, “One Year On”, “Bookends”, “Melanie In The White Coat”. Keyboards on “Bookends” David Lloyd (Cause For Applause; The Dresses): bass on “Remember The Orphans”, “So I So You” Karen Sharky: vocal son “Little Windows”, “The Passage”, “Forts” Julian Gross (Liars): additional percussion on “Forts” Rose Merril: vocals on “Holiday”

--- Video for "Remember The Orphans"** ---

More About