Fear Is On Our Side

Fear Is On Our Side
Released: 22-05-2006

Buy Now

  1. The Ghost
  2. According To Plan
  3. Lights
  4. The Owl
  5. Today
  6. We Choose Faces
  7. Last Ride Together
  8. At Last Is All
  9. Long Walk
  10. Fear Is On Our Side
  11. (untitled)
  12. If It Was Me
  13. Close To Here (Australian bonus track)

Produced by Paul Barker (Ministry, Revolting Cocks), Fear Is Our Side is more sadness than joy with Christian Goyer's lonely lyrics and hauntingly echoed guitar persuaded by Edward Robert's chorused basslines. The sound is coaxing and familiar, Ernest Salaz's textured guitar melodies alternately subtle and entrancing; then howling and anguished. From opening tragic tale "The Ghost," the group echoes past ages and foretells the future. Powerful layers rip through the silence, bonding strength and longing with the weight of a sigh.

Reminiscent to latter-era Talk Talk, with this introspection also comes passion. Since 2001, Chosen Darkness (along with their local predecessors Paul Newman, Windsor for the Derby, and Glorium), have paid their dues by becoming THE band to play with in Austin. Now, it's time to put a sound with the name. Fear Is on Our Side is not trivial or banal. It's not trendy or futile. Fear is a testament to our times, our revolutions, and our meaning. It's timeless, maniacal, and resounding. Darkness and truth.

--- Video for "According To Plan" ---

What US Press has said thus far. . .

“From note one, the listener is hermetically sealed into Chosen Darkness' unique musical universe where overdriven bass leads, pinpoint guitar lines and ominous synths hit with maximum impact.” (Billboard)

“The steady success of this album might be attached to the classic argument about art education: learn other’s voices to find your own.” (Stylus)

*“Establishes ILYBICD as being no longer a band to watch, but a band to listen to.” *(Pitchfork)

More About