Dignity and Shame

Dignity and Shame
Released: 01-08-2005

Buy Now

  1. Islero
  2. Weary Arms
  3. Call to Love
  4. Twilight Creeps
  5. Destroyer
  6. You Must Build A Fire
  7. Valerie
  8. Andalucia
  9. Sleep All Summer
  10. Coldways
  11. Wrecking Ball
  12. Dignity and Shame
  13. New Drink For the Old Drunk (bonus Australian tracks)
  14. The Ballad of El Cuchillo (bonus Australian tracks)

Crooked Fingers’ latest album, Dignity and Shame, is Eric Bachmann's masterpiece. The band convened last spring at Jupiter Studios in their Seattle homebase with producer Martin Feveyear (Screaming Trees, The Minus Five, Rosie Thomas) to record songs. After recording 21 tracks that were intended to be a double record, the band pared the album down to 12 powerful songs of love, lost and found, illustrated by Bachmann’s heartbreaking yet newly hopeful lyrics.

The fourth proper Crooked Fingers full-length release, Dignity and Shame shows the band taking a decidedly new route. Their first three releases were filled with gorgeous portraits of the broken down and abused, the drunken and the melancholy, augmented by string arrangements and orchestral flourishes. In contrast, the beauty of Dignity and Shame lies in its simplicity and accessibility. Bachmann's vocals are at their most confident, while subtle lap steel surfaces from time to time to complement the standard guitar / bass / drums set up. The infusion of Latin influences that began on Red Devil Dawn has been taken to the forefront on Dignity and Shame - the bold Spanish guitar of the opening instrumental "Islero" to the hint of mariachi in the trumpet line of "Twilight Creeps" depicts a band expanding on their signature sound.

In addition, Lara Meyerratken, the Australian singer / songwriter who has collaborated with Ben Lee, Luna, Nada Surf, and Luscious Jackson, lends her Siren-like voice to four tracks on the record (including the radio track “Call To Love”). These new elements combine to make Dignity and Shame the band’s most cohesive and sophisticated work to date.

“Crooked Fingers is tender and affable, and there is zero shame in their latest effort, "Dignity and Shame. No song on "Dignity and Shame" is disposable. Much of them are challenging, and all of them have soul.” (Billboard)

“Bachmann is now the ultimate composite of his equals: he possesses Springsteen's fatalism and redemption, Dylan's reinstituted folk melodies, and Cave's direct, logical lyricism.” (Popmatters)

More About