Slow Dance

Slow Dance
Released: 28-03-2009

Buy Now

  1. We Were There
  2. In This Lonely Town
  3. Gallop
  4. Canter Canter
  5. Slow Dance
  6. Winter Wonder
  7. Will You Dance With Me?
  8. Breaking The Ice
  9. Slow Dance 2
  10. Where Could We Go Tonight?
  11. Love Everlasting *
  12. Lite Beam *
  13. Jet Stream *
  14. Love Everlasting (Winter Version) *
    • Love Everlasting EP

Jeremy Jay walks where a winter theme pervades, where the backdrop for the scenes from his new album Slow Dance take place.

Slow Dance starts with a bang. It navigates listeners through forests and over star streams as easily as walking through the streets, before it shifts to dance floor romance and night-time escapades. There is a consistent, mysterious sway; a strong will backed by noble guitars and shiny synths. Amidst, Jay is protective and candid, inviting listeners to dance with a whisper. A romance of dreams and realities, full colors, ice skates and disco lights.

Recorded in winter-time at the Dub Narcotic Studio (Olympia, Washington) in a succession of silhouettes, Jay (synth and guitar; joined by Derek James on bass, Nick Pahl on drums and Ilya Malinsky on guitar) varies speeds with smooth precision. “Slow Dance” and “Winter Wonder” have a repetitive, loose charm. “In This Lonely Town” and “Breaking the Ice” maintain a strident beat; “Will You Dance with Me?” and “Where Could We Go Tonight?” end with questions where the response feels limitless. The glide on ice transfers to the dance floor with ease.

While working on Slow Dance, there was an icicle-caked excitement that resulted in a snow-flurry of extra recordings. The cozy, insulated vibe of Olympia, Washington and Dub Narcotic Studio took hold and Jeremy, along with Ilya Malinksy (guitar), Nick Pahl (drums) and Derek James (bass) crafted the EP Love Everlasting (released in Australia as the Slow Dance bonus tracks).

These extra songs, recorded with a fiery compulsion, were written in Jeremy’s Los Angeles apartment and expanded in studio. The song “Lite Beam” took shape with a solarized hi-hat and synth bass – a real disco dance cut; “Jet Stream,” has that special synth bass that propels it to a dance floor climax, and the single itself, “Love Everlasting,” twinkles magnificently with a sensual glide.


Jeremy Jay toured extensively across the U.S.A., Europe and Australia in support of his recent album A Place Where We Could Go (out now on Popfrenzy). Chances are looking good he will be back later this year.

“Jeremy Jay [possesses a] frail ingeniousness, creating a warm, inviting space … Dream baby dream.” - Pitchfork Media

More About