Released: 15-08-2009

Buy Now

  1. Waving At The Shore
  2. Pistols
  3. Tag
  4. Ancestors
  5. Noises
  6. Snowshoes
  7. Dizzy From The Fall
  8. Cannibal Rays
  9. Hi-Fi Goon
  10. Baby, You're Bored
  11. Shade For A Shadow
  12. The Outer Folds

Creaturesque is the new album (and first available locally in Australia and New Zealand) from Seattle pop-rock outfit Throw Me The Statue.

The album is produced by TMTS and Phil Ek (The Shins, Built To Spill, Band Of Horses), and while the band retains much of the lo-fi bliss found on their critically acclaimed debut Moonbeams, Phil Ek's mixing of Creaturesque brings the band's maximalist pop sensibilities to new heights.

For starters, album opener, "Waving At The Shore," invites you to the party with lush organ/guitar lines, only to have the horn section and big multitracked keyboards burst into the chorus with all the glitz of 80's era Bowie. "Hi-Fi Goon" is a power pop jam, complete with buzzing synth and a sing-along chorus. On lead single "Ancestors," main man Scott Reitherman spins a somber story into a pop song tour de force amidst gazing guitars, athletic fuzz-bass and a crystalline wall of synthesizers.

Perhaps more sonically upbeat than its predecessor, Creaturesque's details are at times painted in both optimistic and sobering tones. Reitherman's scattershot poetics touch on an array of ideas; it's oppressive American machisimo and Suburbanite sexuality. It's soft drugs and convertible cars. It's the struggle for higher expectations within the mess of modern life, and when wrapped up in the structures of TMTS' sure-handed tunes it's an all too delicious combination.

More About